A day of parts

Slept in, did some brainstorming with Steve, and worked some more on the Carousel Tides site, which  has had a very short character list and a sample chapter added to its charms, as well as a countdown-to-publication meter.  Feel free to go over and take a look, but do remember that it’s a work in progress.

I’m getting ready to knock off for the evening, feeling very much as if I’ve had a lovely, productive weekend, where I learned some new things and wasn’t rushed or harried, so — a success.

Tomorrow, so I hear, is Monday.  Too bad about that.

What I did on my day off

As threatened, I worked with my spiffy new layout program, which was remarkably soothing.  I’ve also made a start on a Carousel Tides website.  It’s not by any means done yet; I want to add a cast of characters, and some sample chapters and a post about why I wrote this book — to, yanno, defuse those folks who will ask Why On Earth I wasted my time writing urban fantasy.

If you have a couple moments, do you mind going over and taking a look at the place?  Let me know what you think, and what you might find useful in such a site.

Thanks — and I hope everyone had as relaxing a day as I did.

Cranky Writer is Cranky and! Saltation sightings?

. . .consider the above fair warning, and Do Not Try Me(tm).  Thank you.

As reported earlier in the week, B&N and Amazon are now shipping Saltation; both are accepting customer reviews, if you’re of a reviewing bent.

I’m now looking for reports of Saltation spotted in the wild, as well as any other Lee and Miller books that might be nearby.  As you’re out and about town, keep your eyes peeled, please!

No, we have not yet received our Big Shipment of Saltation subscriber copies.  We’ll tell you when.?

My plans for the day include cleaning out my closet and making up a box of stuff to go to Goodwill, brainstorming, and perhaps goofing off with my spiffy! new! layout program.

What’re you doing that’s fun?

Roll down the window and let the wind blow through your hair

Ghod, what a terrible day.  The problem with being gone a day from the day-job is that the email stacks up and then I’ve got a dozen people needing something right now. Even if everyone is being Perfectly Polite, which the majority were, the sensation is too very much like being stuck in a crowded party where everybody is yelling to be heard over their neighbor, and all you (or at least, I) want to do is get out and find a quiet corner.

Well.

I didn’t kill anybody; I didn’t cry in public; and I didn’t quit.

Guess that counts as a victory.

Brief stop at the grocery store, then home.  Steve was watching anime — he told me which one, but I forgot.  I retired to my room and did not do anything of the serious tasks that need doing for the closing out of SRM’s fiscal year.  Instead, I opened up my file and wrote a few words — just some conversation, that’s all.

I feel better now.

Time to go into the kitchen and wash me some dishes.

Progress on Ghost Ship:

42,254 words, not-necessarily-in-order, for about 42.25% done

Nope, still haven’t figured out how to make the progress meter display properly in WordPress.

Everybody have a good evening.

Liaden Universe® InfoDump No. 82

The authors wish you a happy spring in this busy year in the Liaden Universe® … thanks for taking time out of your busy day to read this.

Fledgling: So far this year Fledgling has come out in mass market paperback and is finding new readers (you have yours, right?) and we have more happening in the next few months, including books and multiple convention appearances by the authors.

Saltation: If someone’s needing convincing to order or buy, there a new review of Saltation:  http://www.sfrevu.com/php/Review-id.php?id=9518

And speaking of Saltation, a reminder that Saltation is due in stores in less than two weeks; Powell’s says merely April, as does Indiebound (http://www.indiebound.org/book/9781439133453), but Amazon.com says April 13…

And the page here shows the Publishers Weekly review featured at Powell’s

But we’d like to see more, wouldn’t you? If you do see a review please drop a note to Steve or Sharon on their blogs, facebook, or Steve’s twitter account — see bottom of Infodump for those contact details! And remember, you ebook fans should check in on webscriptions so you can load up on Liaden goodness for spring.

The pre-supporting Saltations due to be signed by the authors are not yet in house, or even in Maine. If you were a Saltation pre-supporter and haven’t yet recieved an email address confrimation, please contact saltation_verifyATkorval.com (where @ replaces AT). Once the books arrive it will take some time for us to sign, pack, and ship them, complicated by Steve’s foot surgery. Please be patient; once the books are in there will be an announcement.

More books coming

Due in June in paper from Baen: the newest Liaden adventure, Mouse and Dragon, properly in the Fledgling story arc, and the premium-trade thre- novel edition The Dragon Variation (including Local Custom, Scout’s Progress, and Conflict of Honors) which will act as a good starter book for newcomers. Various webscription arrangements can be found here:

SRM Publisher

Meanwhile, SRM Publisher is in the midst of a Contusion Sale to help make way for incoming books — a sale including reduced prices on select SRM cover hardbacks (like Liaden Universe® Companion Volume One!) and clearance pricing on some low-stock Meisha Merlin books and SRM chabpooks as well. You can find some of the details here:  now’s your chance!

Other Lee and Miller stuff:

The Lee & Miller dark fantasies Duainfey and Longeye are still available from most bookstores as well as webscription and now there’s a brief YouTube trailer for them:

Where in the World are Lee and Miller?

Sharon and Steve will be Writer Guests of Honor at Oasis 23 May 28 – 30, 2010 in Orlando, Florida! In addition to stellar programming, planning is going forth for a Friends of Liad breakfast and other goodies. This is Sharon’s first time in Flordia and helps meet the authors’ goals of expanding their convention range. If you’re within range, please be part of this rare trip south.

June 18 – 20, 2010, Steve and Sharon will be Literary Guests of Honor at DucKon 19 in Naperville, Illinois! In addition to exciting program items, there is a rumor (as yet unsubstantiated) of a Liaden High Tea! Also, a rare extra is planned — so watch the skies, join the convention, meet the authors and other Friends of Liad as well.

Please remember to tell the registration folks that we sent you!

We will also be attending ReConStruction, the 10th Occassional North American Science Fiction Convention, in Raleigh, NC, August 5-8, 2010.

Yes, You can Read Lee and Miller on Your Ebook Reader!

All of the published Liaden Universe® books, the Fey Duology, and The Tomorrow Log are available from Baen Webscriptions

There are instructions on the Webscription site for downloading their books to your Kindle, iPhone, iTouch, Sony EReader, and other devices (just click the link on the upper left-hand side of the page)

Several Sharon Lee short stories, and the Jennifer Pierce Maine novels, Barnburner and Gunshy, are available from Fictionwise

Support Your Local Bookstore

Uncle Hugo’s

University Bookstore

Pandemonium Books

Missing Volume

Borderlands

Dream Haven

Flights of Fantasy

Mysterious Galaxy

Constellation Books

Children’s Book Cellar

All of the above folks do mail order and take want lists — let them know you’re a Friend of Liad, please.

Blogs of Note

Theo_Waitley is the discussion group for readers of Fledgling and Saltation

Where Dragons Rest

Steve Miller’s blog, Journeyman

Sharon Lee’s blog, Eagles over the Kennebec

Sharon Lee’s new blog site now being developed, Sharon Lee, Writer

SRM Publisher blog

Sharon Lee’s “Professional” blog, Look Up, the Stars are Dancing

Facebook Connections — please feel free to add us!

Steve Miller

Sharon Lee

Liaden Interest Groups on Facebook

Clan Korval

Friends of Liad

Flaran chamenthi

GoodReads

Sharon’s Author Page

Steve’s on Twitter

DISCLAIMER STUFF

This InfoDump is a product of the Liaden Universe®, accept no imitations. You have received this message because you asked for it. If you wish to subscribe to the Liaden Universe® email list, go here

Was a sunny day

…and a warm one.  Suddenly!  It’s summer, forget about spring.  My daffodils are ready to burst forth in song and it’s only April 3.

This morning’s adventures included a trip to the local hospital’s women’s health fair, which was pleasant, and informative, and left me with a burning desire to learn to dance Zumba.  Unfortunately, it happens that there is a Zumba class taught at the Blue Wave Studio right in downtown Waterville on Thursday evenings.  This could be bad. I can only hope that tuition costs the earth.

I happened to be at the Senior Spectrum table, looking at their display Wii when I heard the woman behind the counter tell a prospective client about the range of activities open to Senior Spectrum members, including trips, and talks by experts, including Maine Authors.  When the spiel was done and the customer gone, I stepped up and offered a card — “My name is Sharon Lee and I’m a Maine Author” —  leading to much laughter.  P’rhaps a gig will come of it.

Back home, I dealt with lunch and retired to the corner of the couch with The Leewit to get some writing done.  What I’m doing right now is writing the bits I know, which means that I have medium-to-large chunks of stuff that has to happen, story-wise.  This will enable me to figure out what needs to happen, plot-wise, since transitions will have to be built to all of these scenes.  So, progress, in a sort-of sideways direction.

Tomorrow is more writing, interleaved with laundry.  Monday, Steve is wanted early at the hospital for outpatient surgery, and I’m his designated driver.

The fun, it never stops.

Hope you — yes, you! — are having a lovely and relaxing weekend, wherever you are.

For those keeping score at home, progress on Ghost Ship is 40,007 out of a projected 100,000 words — about 40% done.

Maybe I’ll figure out how to make the little progress meter work in WordPress some other day.

G’night.