Liaden Universe® InfoDump #94

Liaden Universe® InfoDump #94

Just returned from being Guests of Honor at the delightful ChattaCon 37, Lee & Miller are still going places and doing things in 2012, with their next road trip coming real soon now, a few more in the spring, and another in early summer.

Publishing news:
Dragon Ship was turned in to Baen Books just before Lee & Miller left for Chattacon. Still set for September release in hardcover, watch for details, including a special signed edition.

Carousel Tides – Sharon’s ocean side urban fantasy — is now in mass market from Baen, wherever fine books are sold.

Legacy Systems, Adventures in the Liaden Universe® #19 was just published by Pinbeambooks.com as an ebook for Nook and Kindle. It’s available at Barnes & Noble and at Amazon, and will soon be at Smashwords in other formats.
Details: “Intelligent Design” – When a spaceship’s inquisitive cabin boy finds a surplus crate of spare parts at a warehouse, all he knows is that he wants it very much. His older cousin’s willing to see him buy it, but not quite so understanding when it comes time to connect the dots.
“The Space at Tinsori Light” – Sometimes in chaotic moments the panic button is all that’s left. Sometimes it saves you, and sometimes it takes you to the Space at Tinsori Light.

In other Pinbeam Books news, all February proceeds from the sale of the Cat’s Job ebook will be donated to Planned Parenthood’s breast cancer screening program – see see details at: http://www.pinbeambooks.com/

On the Internetz:
The annual SF Site Readers Choice Awards nomination period is open! until March 9. Nominate the best books of 2011 (And remember, Ghost Ship by Sharon Lee and Steve Miller was published in August, 2011). Details are at http://www.sfsite.com/columns/neil360.htm ….

Travel News:
February 16, 2012 – Sharon and Steve will be signing at Pandemonium Books & Games 4 Pleasant St. Cambridge, MA 02139 , 7 to 9 PM – our first time is this location.

February 17-19, 2012 – Sharon and Steve will be appearing at the classic Boston regional SF convention, Boskone, Westin Boston Waterfront. The prime hotel is sold out but you can see where there are rooms locally by visiting the Boskone website – http://www.nesfa.org/boskone/ Preliminary scheduling shows that we will be hosting a Friends of Liad breakfast on Saturday morning at 8 a.m. at Saucity, which is in the hotel. We’re assuming that they will still be offering the Saturday morning buffet breakfast with your choice of made-on-the-spot omelets.  We hope to see lots of early risers. Do remember, the FoL breakfast is an informal gathering of friends; we are each responsible for paying our own check. We have a reading scheduled for 10 a.m., Sharon and then Steve is the official plan, but we may well switch off. We are also at the moment scheduled for a Literary Beer on Saturday at 4 p.m.  Sign-up at the con. Also on Saturday, we’ll be talking Liaden Universe® and Matters Astronomical with Brother Guy Consolmagno at 1 p.m.

Stop the presses! The almost-final Boskone schedule is now live here: http://www.nesfa.org/boskone/schedule.html

March 16, 2012 – Lee & Miller visit the the Maine School of Science and Mathematics in Limestone, Maine to discuss writing (and reading) science fiction. This event is open to the public. 12:30 p.m.

April 5, 2012 – Rockland Public Library, 80 Union Street, Rockland, ME 04841 6:30 PM. Lee & Miller do a reading, talk, and signing at one of the fine coastal libraries.

Memorial Day Weekend — May 25-27, 2012 ConQuest 43, Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center, Kansas City, MO. We’d like to have the usual – a Friends of Laid breakfast and perhaps a friends of Liad party as well – will you be there?

WorldCon 2012 – yes, Lee & Miller are members of the Chicago Worldcon this summer. No, as things now stand, we will not be attending. This doesn’t mean Friends of Liad shouldn’t get together, but the chance of the authors stopping by is pretty low at the moment.

Miscellanea:
SRM Publisher’s leftover refrigerator, bookcases, and assorted boxes have huddled in the basement since the move out of Steve’s in town office last year as a bunch of piles. Those piles have given up a box marked “Sept – December files” that actually had some books in it… which will go to auction in the coming week or so on EBAY. Among them 2 First Edition Partners in Necessity hardcovers. 2 First Edition hardcover Liaden Universe Companion Vol , 1 of the Mass Market sized Liaden Universe Companion Vol 1. Watch Steve’s Twitter (*: http://twitter.com/bechimo ), Facebook, and blog for start dates for these sales.

Where on Earth are Lee and Miller?
Boskone 49 (http://www.nesfa.org/boskone/), February 17-19, 2012, Boston, MA.
Maine School of Science and Mathematics, Limestone ME, Friday, March 16
Rockland Public Library, Rockland ME, Thursday, April 5, 2012
ConQuest 43 (www.conquestkc.org), May 25-27, 2012, Kansas City, MO. Lee and Miller Guests of Honor

Support Your Local Bookstore:
Uncle Hugo’s: http://www.unclehugo.com/
University Bookstore: http://www.bookstore.washington.edu/services.taf?dept=about&category=loca
Pandemonium Books: http://www.pandemoniumbooks.com/
Missing Volume: http://www.themissingvolume.com/
Borderlands: http://www.borderlands-books.com/
Flights of Fantasy: http://www.fof.net/
Mysterious Galaxy: http://mysteriousgalaxy.booksense.com/
Constellation Books: http://www.constellationbooks.com/NASApp/store/IndexJsp
Children’s Book Cellar: http://www.indiebound.org/stores/childrens-book-cellar
All of the above folks do mail order and take want lists.

Blogs and Other Webly Things of Note:
Theo_Waitley is the discussion group for readers of Fledgling and Saltation: http://community.livejournal.com/theo_waitley/
Where Dragons Rest: http://community.livejournal.com/liaden_readers/
Steve Miller’s blog, Journeyman: http://kinzel.livejournal.com/
Sharon Lee’s blog, Eagles over the Kennebec: http://rolanni.livejournal.com/
SRM Publisher blog: http://srmpublisher.livejournal.com/
Sharon Lee’s “Professional” blog: http://sharonleewriter.com
Splinter Universe Discussion List: http://splinterverse.livejournal.com
Facebook Connections — please feel free to add us!
http://facebook.com/kinzel — Steve Miller
http://facebook.com/rolanni — Sharon Lee

Liaden Interest Groups on Facebook
Clan Korval: http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=38719490864&ref=ts
Friends of Liad: http://www.facebook.com/home.php?ref=home#/group.php?gid=16280839259&ref=ts
Flaran chamenthi: http://www.facebook.com/home.php?ref=home#/group.php?gid=2213414696&ref=ts

GoodReads
Sharon’s Author Page:http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/57980.Sharon_Lee

*Steve’s on Twitter*: http://twitter.com/bechimo
*Sharon’s on Twitter, too*: http://twitter.com/ClanKorval

DISCLAIMER STUFF
This InfoDump is a product of the Liaden Universe®, accept no imitations. You have received this message because you asked for it. If you wish to subscribe to the Liaden Universe® email list, to unsubscribe from the Liaden Universe® email list, or to change your delivery email address, go here: http://www.fireopal.org/cgi-bin/mailman/listinfo/liadenuniversenews

 –30–

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.